Conscious Cosmos

Nature, with her intelligence, created humans

What are Vyahritis?

Home » What are Vyahritis?

A ​Vaccuum Scientist says that Space will retain the laws of nature even if all of matter is removed from it. Therefore, Vaccuum can form matter form emptiness by following these laws of nature again.  Long ago, ​the Rishis expressed a similar idea. A Rishi’s idea of the “absolute” existence is like this Vaccuum. “Relative” existence of the material existence arises at will from this “absolute”. The Om sound refers to the Absolute. What then are the Vyahriti (व्याहृति) sounds which are closely associated with the Om sound?  

Are Vyahritis like laws of Physics?

Mantras form the boundary between the Absolute and the Relative

Sri Sri Ravishankar on the Spanda Karika text

The Mantras form the boundary between the absolute and the relative existence. Mantras originate from the Vyahriti sounds. Veda practitioners say that the Vyahritis can enhance the power of Mantras. Therefore, Veda students and experts include the Vyahritis whenever they meditate on the famous Gayatri Mantra. But what are the Vyahritis?

Vyahriti in stories and in expert writings

There are seven Vyahriti (व्याहृति) sounds. These are revered like the sound Om. Vyasa, the compiler of the Vedas passed down the rudimentary idea of Vyahritis through stories. Ordinary folk therefore understand the Vyahritis as seven Lokas or planes of existence. However, a serious student of Vedas knows Vyahritis to be subtle like the Om sound. Yajnavalka, an early expert of Vedas explains them the following way. 

Yajnavalka says that Brahma, the creator, noticed seven Vyahritis to be appearing in fourteen cycles of creation. Further, he observed the nature of the first three Vyahritis with more clarity than the rest. In fact, Brahma coined the seven sounds as references to these Vyahritis. The Taitriya Samhita explains the first three Vyahritis from a different angle.

Firstly, a meditator can experience existence to be an extension of his own Atma or the Self. Secondly, the Vyahritis are a part of this Atma. Therefore, a meditator can gain a glimpse of the Vyahritis in nature. In fact, he can glimpse the first Vyahriti in Agni (fire), the second Vyahriti in Vayu (Wind) and the third Vyahriti in Aditya (Sun). Taitriya Samhita proceed further. It declares the fourth Vyahriti to be Brahman. 

An understanding of Vyahritis (व्याहृति) appears to be as elusive as natural laws of physics which hide somewhere in the empty space of a Vaccuum physicist.

What seven sounds did Brahma cognize in all the fourteen cycles of creation? What are these fourteen cycles of creation?

They are Bhu, Bhuvah, Suvah, Mahah, Janah, Tapah, Satyam.

Rishi Yajnavalka refers to the fourteen Sargas. There is a parallel between these Sargas and the fourteen Manu Eras. You may also want to read the post on – Bhur Bhuvah Suvah

2 responses to “What are Vyahritis?”

  1. Arjun Avatar

    Thank you so much for explaining it in detail

    1. krishna Avatar

      I appreciate your comment. As a serious researcher on ancient texts in the Tamil & Sanskrit languages, I come across some unique insights. I gained insight about the Vyahritis from Agasthiyar’s Perunool text.

      I am looking for the connection between the number Seven and many related knowledge in these texts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial